Head change at Fraunhofer IEE: Mackensen succeeds Rohrig

As of February 15, 2022, the management of the Fraunhofer Institute for Energy Economics and Energy System Technology IEE in Kassel will be taken over by Dr. Reinhard Mackensen, who the Fraunhofer Executive Board has commissioned to run the business until the ongoing appointment procedures at the TU Darmstadt and the University of Kassel for a new dual leadership in the institute's management have been completed.

Dr. Reinhard Mackensen brings to this task his scientific expertise from 25 years of professional experience at various levels, most recently as division director and deputy institute director. In addition to his many years of experience as a manager, he has excellent networks with partners from industry and science as well as within the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft.

Prof. Dr. Kurt Rohrig had been the head of Fraunhofer IEE since March 2021, and is now ending his active professional career. The Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and Fraunhofer IEE would like to thank Prof. Rohrig for his many years of service as a scientist and manager in which he played a key role in the successful further development of the institute. In the future, Rohrig intends to continue his commitment to renewable energies and climate protection in university teaching and various social initiatives.

Prof. Dr. Kurt Rohrig started his career at Fraunhofer IEE more than 31 years ago with the development of one of the world's largest databases on wind turbines. Building on this, he and his research team developed wind power forecasting systems that enable grid operators to reliably integrate wind energy into the grid and market and contribute to secure grid operation. With the project “Regeneratives Kombikraftwerk Deutschland”, regenerative Combined Cycle Power Plant Germany, he countered the skepticism at the highest political levels that a power supply can also be stable with 100 % renewable energies. He was awarded the "German Climate Protection Prize 2009" for these efforts as the project's scientific director for his research achievements. In 2016, the University of Kassel appointed him honorary professor because of his pioneering work for research on renewable energies.

Last modified: